The Ninth Gate (1999)

DONATE

the-9th-gate-1.jpg

THE NINTH GATE

Johnny Depp / Emmanuelle Seigner / Frank Langella / Lena Olin / Barbara Jefford / Jack Taylor / Tony Amoni / James Russo / José López Rodero / Wily Holt / Novel  Arturo Pérez-Reverte /Soundtrack  Wojciech Kilar / Cinematography   Darius Khondji / Producer  Mark Allan, Antonio Cardenal & Roman Polanski / Director  Roman Polanski

‘Every book has a life of it’s own..’

the-9th-gate-2.jpg

the-9th-gate-3.jpg

‘Nothing is more reliable than a man whose loyalties can be bought with hard cash.’

the-9th-gate-4.jpg

the-9th-gate-5.jpg

‘The Devil..I saw him one day. I was fifteen years old, and I saw him as plain as I see you now: cutaway, top hat, cane. Very elegant, very handsome. It was love at first sight.’

the-9th-gate-6.jpg

the-9th-gate-7.jpg

‘You can’t come with me… I must travel alone but you can look on and marvel.’

the-9th-gate-8.jpg

the-9th-gate-9.jpg

the-9th-gate-10.jpg

There have been men who have been burned alive or disemboweled for a glimpse of what you are about to witness.’

the-9th-gate-11.jpg

the-9th-gate-12.jpg

‘Look around you all what do you see? A bunch of buffoons parading around in fancy dress. You think the prince of Darkness would deign to manifest himself before the likes of you? He never has and he never will! Never!’

the-9th-gate-13.jpg

the-9th-gate-15.jpg

‘To travel in silence by a long and circuitous route. To brave the arrows of misfortune and fear neither noose nor fire. To play the greatest of all games and win, foregoing no expense is to mock the vicissitudes of Fate and gain at last the key that will unlock..       the Ninth Gate.’

the-9th-gate-16.jpg

the-9th-gate-17.jpg

‘Even Hell has its heroes, señor.’

 the-9th-gate-18.jpg

The Woodcuts

1.jpg  2.jpg  3.jpg  4.jpg  5.jpg

6.jpg  7.jpg  8.jpg  9.jpg  10.jpg

 

21 comments on “The Ninth Gate (1999)

  1. eight gate says:

    its a very good film and i love him

  2. gary says:

    I am addicted to The Ninth Gate. Very exciting and inspiring movie.
    Johnny Depp – great self-disciplined, low-keyed role.
    Frank Langella – a very cool dude, should be more well known.
    Lena Olin – a hottie, can change fast from sensuous to wicked very well.
    Emmanuelle Seigner- psychic heroine, very brave and elegant.
    Barbara Jefford- outstanding actress, knows her stuff. Cute, in her own way.
    Toni Amoni- not the toughest in the role of a bodyguard, but still great for the minor role he played.
    James Russo- nice guy, you’d want to avenge his murder.
    Very friendly cab driver, everyone did very well.

  3. arlenedewinter says:

    This is a nice webpage. I love this film and book. I created a fan club for it on Facebook but not many have come out yet. I’ll give you a link for what its worth!

  4. matt says:

    A most excellent and under-rated film. Enjoyed its elegance and sense of foreboding mystery.

  5. LCF says:

    I loved this movie. One of the best i have ever seen. Polanski is a visionary genius. The way he can capture a single moment from so many angles is astounding. Depp was a perfect choice for his role.

  6. SalemCat says:

    I would very much like to have the Woodcuts explained. Is there such a site ?

  7. C.M. says:

    A very good plot

  8. FJ says:

    The little details that Depp manages to work into his character make his performance so realistic that we are stunned that we actually root for this hero of Hell.

  9. Dr.Devil says:

    Im having a bitch of a time finding the LCF woodcuts and the last actual one.. if anyone could help me out that would me greatly appreciated…

  10. pseudocognac says:

    ..De Umbrarum Regni Novem Portis is a fictional book, so there are NO actual woodcuts..:)..search for Arturo Pérez-Reverte, Club Dumas..

  11. Elaji8s says:

    Hey have anyone some useful information about the 3 real books of shadows? Also called Umbrarum Regni of Novem Portis? i have bin looking for the books 10 years now i was close to get one of them but it end in a bad way! Plz Mail me if you have some information about the 3 books of Umbrarum Regni (The Nine Gate)

    Greetings! Elajitz

    Metall_boy2@hotmail.com

  12. The_Doctor_Is_IN says:

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Nice one, Sisters!
    All I can say is………………………
    CRAFTY! 😉

  13. Chane71 says:

    Do any of you could post here the woodcut # 0 of the cover of “De Vmbrarvm Regni Novem Portis” (woodcut of the movie “The Ninth Gate”)?, Which as you know the woodcut we see in the film has a serpent is screwed into the tree and the snake has a double-eight or a sign “infinite” very silimar the two serpents of the caduceus of the god Mercury.

  14. Manuel says:

    Thanks by this page…I have download all The Woodcuts, I like such art…btw some of them has no the LCF signature….

  15. I visit each day a few web pages and blogs to read posts, except this
    web site gives quality based articles.

  16. This deesign is wicked! You certainly know how to keep a
    reader entertained. Between your wit and your
    videos, I was almost oved too start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Fantastic job.
    I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you
    presented it. Too cool!

  17. You have made some decent points there. I looked on thee net to find
    out more about the issue and found most individuals will goo along with your views on this website.

  18. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this fantastic blog!

    I suppose for now i’ll settgle for bookmarking and adding your RSS
    feed to my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates and will
    share this website with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

  19. Greate pieces. Keep writing such kind of info
    on your page. Im really impressed by your blog.

    Hey there, You’ve done a fazntastic job.
    I will certainly digg it and for my part suggest to my friends.
    I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this site.

Leave a comment